Press Release



Christophe AVELLA-BAGUR           Floating Souls: Spirit of Resilience - Part 1             January 11th - February 26th,  2014

 

Galerie Richard Paris is delighted to present the twelfth solo show of French artist Christophe Avella-Bagur, titled Floating Souls: Spirit of Resilience - Part 1, from January 11th to February 26th,  2014. Floating Souls: Resilience – Part 2 will begin at Galerie Richard New York from April 3rd to 26th 2014. Avella-Bagur is one of the Masters of  figurative painters of his generation.

 

Christophe Avella-Bagur returns to Paris for a presentation of Floating Souls with a new body of powerful works. He continues developing his series using different mixed-medias that confront humanity (the singularity of humans) with the standardization of the human being, and of the world. The artist will present scenes with landscapes in multiple spaces, with three dimensional paintings, sometimes integrating some machinery,  a procession of a New World in a large format painting , wonderful works on paper and surprising painting/sculpture combinations.  

 

Avella Bagur started his series Face Floating Soul in 2005 with middle-sized portraits. The series now consists of 150 works, painted, drawn, or sculpted.  The humanoids integrate at the beginning a human face that allowed a whole pictorial research of following themes: The making of interchangeable beings / The breakdown of the human entity / The materialized F.S. world space / The human clown in the F.S being its own weakness / The acceptance of the dual reality / Political and Social Resistance.

 

Christophe Avella-Bagur gives us an uncompromisingly contemporary kind of painting, which while remaining firmly figurative presents a fresh look at the complex nature of human identity as depicted by the virtual world:

 

When I paint I have in mind a long line of great artists who went before me, artists who affect my daily life, like twin brothers with whom I have a spiritual, a mystical and a pictorial relationship. I paint people, because our human condition is the only subject that really matters. I paint what interferes day after day in us without our acceptance and knowledge. My works explicitly reveal today’s conflict between the standardization ot he human being, of his body and mind and of his way of life, and a human being who is still able to make his own choices, who is unique, has his flaws and weaknesses and  can still assert his individuality. My work combines two worlds, a world in which humans are soulless mass-produced creatures, all the same and therefore worthless and without ethics, and an another world, in which individuals, in spite of their weaknesses and clumsy efforts, are still able to make up their own minds and shape their own destinies. That’s why my works show two sides of a struggle, because it’s a desperate and bitter struggle, and neither side has won yet. - Christophe Avella-Bagur - 2013

 

Born in 1968 in Avignon, France, Christophe Avella-Bagur has been represented by Galerie Richard since 1992.  After his  successful first solo exhibition at Galerie Richard, New York in 2012, he participated in several exhibitions in the United States: Bosi Contemporary Gallery, New York,  MONA (Museum of New Art  in Detroit and Documenta USA Pridgeport Art Center in Chicago in 2013.

Communiqué de presse



Christophe AVELLA-BAGUR             Floating Souls : Spirit of resilience - Part 1           11 janvier - 26 février 2014

 

Galerie Richard Paris est heureuse de présenter la douzième exposition personnelle de l’artiste français Christophe Avella-Bagur intitulée Floating Souls : Spirit of resilience - Part 1 du 11 janvier au 26 février 2014. Floating Souls: Spirit of Resilience- Part 2 se déroulera à Galerie Richard New York du 3 au 26 avril 2014. Christophe Avella-Bagur confirme qu’il est un des plus grands peintres figuratifs de sa génération.

 

Avella-Bagur revient à Paris pour une présentation des Floating Souls avec un nouvel ensemble d'œuvres puissantes. Il poursuit le développement de sa série sur différents médiums combinés confrontant l’humanité (la singularité des êtres) à la standardisation de l’humain, du monde. L'artiste présentera des scènes avec des paysages aux espaces multiples, des peintures en relief intégrant parfois une machinerie, une procession du nouveau monde de très grand format, des dessins graphiques obsédant et une combinaison peinture/sculpture surprenante.

 

Christophe Avella-Bagur a commencé sa série Face Floating Soul en 2005 avec des portraits de moyen format. La série compte désormais plus de cent cinquante œuvres, peintes, dessinées ou sculptées. Les humanoïdes intégrant un visage humain du début ont permis un ensemble de recherches picturales dont voici les thèmes: La Fabrique des êtres interchangeables / La fracture de l’entité humaine / L’espace monde F.S. matérialisé / L’humain clown au sein des F.S. acteur de sa propre défaillance / L’acceptation de la réalité duale / La résistance politique et sociale.

 

Avella-Bagur donne à voir une interprétation résolument contemporaine de la peinture qui, tout en s’inscrivant dans une histoire de la représentation, élabore une vision nouvelle de l’identité humaine configurée par l’univers virtuel.

 

Je peins en pensant à la longue lignée d'artistes qui m'ont précédé et avec lesquels je vis au quotidien comme avec des doppelgängers avec qui j'entretiendrais des relations spirituelles, mystiques et picturales, mais de la même manière avec le grand Tout mondialisé. Je peins l'humain car il n'y a aucun autre sujet valable que celui de notre condition. Je ne peins pas une fantasmagorie, du Hype ou de l’esthé-toc, mais ce qui s’immisce jour après jour en nous à notre insu. Mes œuvres exposent notre confrontation actuelle entre la standardisation de l'être, de la pensée, du mode de vie avec un humain disposant encore de son libre-arbitre, de son unicité, de ses défauts mais surtout de sa singularité. Mes œuvres intègrent deux univers: un univers où l'Homme serait un produit sans âme, sortant d'une chaîne de production de grande série, interchangeable et donc sans valeur, sans morale et un second univers où la singularité de l'Etre serait ouverte aux possibles avec ses maladresses, ses tâtonnements, mais avec sa liberté d'agir et de choisir son destin. Mes œuvres exposent deux visages en lutte pour la suprématie ; le combat est âpre, personne n'est encore vainqueur, mais de l’adaptation, de la capacité à absorber les chocs en les transformant en puissance créative découlera le futur. Esprit de résilience - Christophe Avella-Bagur - 2013.

 

Né à Avignon en 1968, Christophe Avella-Bagur est représenté par Galerie Richard depuis 1992. Après le franc succès de sa première exposition personnelle à Galerie Richard New York en 2012, il a participé à plusieurs expositions aux Etats-Unis: Bosi Contemporary Gallery, New York, MONA (Museum Of New Art - Documenta USA à Detroit et Bridgeport Art Center Chicago en 2013.