Press Release



 

Galerie Richard, Paris presents the works on paper by ten artists of the gallery from January 31st till February 26th, 2015. Two exclusive events: Mari Minato joins Gallery Richard, Paris and first presentation in gallery of drawings on paper by Takesada Matsutani.

 

Born in 1981 in Kyoto, Mari Minato lives and works in Paris since 2006. Met in 2013 during Matsutani’s exhibition in New York, in 2014 she got attention in Salon de Montrouge and created a permanent installation in Hospital Necker for sick children. Her work takes its roots in the Japanese calligraphy and the control of the gesture that she applies in 3D spaces. She also got a recognition for her art in situ installations in France creating murals by taking into account architectural, sociological, historical contexts of the spaces. Her works independent of any physical context integrate the third dimension more and more.

 

Gallery Richard exhibits Takesada Matsutani since 2012 but it is in 2014 that the artist decided  to present his unique works on paper to the public. For every Japanese artist paper is the noble material and Matsutani produced several works on paper rubbed on canvas. We discover a very experimental work where the artist manipulates paper, wood glue, graphite, Chinese ink, ropes, added canvases … As for his paintings in his works on paper he looks for the third dimension and for the expression of his creative energy. Since museums shows dedicated to the Gutai group, in particular the exhibition Gutai: Splendid playground in the Guggenheim Museum in new York in 2013 and his double solo shows at the same time in Galerie Richard New York, the artist finally got the international recognition. Galerie Richard sold aone of his major painting to Pompidou center for the permanent collection of Musée d’art moderne et contemporain in Paris. The Otani Memorial Art Museum in Nishinomiya will organize a Matsutani retrospective solo show in Fall 2015.

 

The exhibition allows to enjoy signature works on paper by artists represented by the gallery.

We easily recognize Christophe Avella-Bagur's drawings with their expressiveness and density, t Jean Carzou’s with their thin sharp lines, Hervé Heuzé’s marked with a soft light, the technical and precise drawings by Stefan Hoenerloh, and Peter Rogiers’s immediate and spontaneous ones. Abstraction is on view thru the works on paper by Sven-Ole Frahm, lessons of composition, works by Shirley Kaneda who play with relevance of washed-out subtleties on paper and plunge us into a space of floating forms in interactions, Carl Fudge's works being situated in the junction between representation and abstraction.

Communiqué de presse



 

Galerie Richard, Paris, expose les œuvres sur papier de dix artistes de la galerie du 31 janvier au 26 février 2015. Deux grandes nouveautés sur cette exposition : Mari Minato rejoint Galerie Richard, Paris et première présentation en galerie des dessins sur papier de Takesada Matsutani.

 

Née en 1981 à Kyoto, Mari Minato vit et travaille à Paris depuis 2006. Rencontrée en 2013 lors de l’exposition de Takesada Matsutani à New York, elle a été remarquée lors du dernier Salon de Montrouge et a inauguré une installation permanente à l’Hôpital Necker des enfants malades. Son travail s’inscrit dans le prolongement de l’art calligraphique japonais et de la maîtrise du geste appliqué dans des espaces tridimenssionnels. Elle est connue pour avoir participé en France à plusieurs manifestations d’art in situ, créant des peintures murales en tenant compte du contexte social, historique et architectural des lieux. Ses œuvres indépendantes de tout contexte intègrent de plus en plus l’espace tridimensionnel.

 

Galerie Richard expose Takesada Matsutani depuis 2012 mais c’est en 2014 que l’artiste a décidé de présenter au public ses œuvres sur papier uniques. Pour tout artiste japonais le papier est le matériau noble et Matsutani a produit plusieurs œuvres sur papier marouflé sur toile. On découvre un travail très expérimental où l’artiste manipule le papier, la colle à bois, la mine de plomb, l’encre de chine, des cordes, des toiles…Comme pour ses peintures il cherche la troisième dimension et la manifestation de son énergie créative. Depuis les grandes expositions rétrospectives sur le groupe Gutai et notamment la grande exposition Gutai: Splendid Playground au Guggenheim Museum à New York et sa double exposition personnelle à Galerie Richard New York aux mêmes dates, la reconnaissance internationale de Takesada Matsutani a été finalement consacrée. Le Centre Pompidou a acquis en 2014 une œuvre majeure de l’artiste pour leur collection permanente. Une grande exposition personnelle lui sera consacrée au Otani Memorial Art Museum à Nishinomiya en automne 2015.

 

L’exposition permet de retrouver des dessins représentatifs du travail d’artistes de la galerie. On retrouve  des dessins figuratifs de Christophe Avella-Bagur avec leur expressivité et densité exacerbés, ceux de Jean Carzou aux traits acérés, ceux d’Hervé Heuzé empreints d’une douce lumière, ceux techniques et précis de Stefan Hoenerloh, et enfin ceux de Peter Rogiers d’une expressivité plus immédiate et spontanée. Du côté des œuvres sur papier abstraites les peintures sur papier de Sven-Ole Frahm sont des leçons de composition, celles de Shirley Kaneda jouent avec pertinence des délavés subtils que l’on peut obtenir sur papier pour nous plonger dans un espace de formes flottantes en interactions, les œuvres de Carl Fudge se situant à la jonction entre figuration et abstraction.