Press Release



NORIO IMAI                                                  White Event                                  October 10 – November 12, 2015

 

Galerie Richard Paris is pleased to present White Event, part 2 of Norio Imai’s first solo exhibition in France, from October 10th to November 28th, 2015. The artist (b. Osaka, 1946) joined the Gutai Art Association in 1965 when he was only 19, establishing himself as the youngest member of the avant-garde movement in post-war Japan. Imai gained early recognition for his white monochrome works of sculptural quality. Following his first exhibition this Summer composed of works made in 2000, this second part features 21 works conceived between 1963 and 1969 during his Gutai’s years. The canvas for him is not so much as a ground for painting, but rather a new medium that allows him to experiment and develop paintings three-dimensionally. By doing so, he plays with light by adding tonality to the monochrome and by creating fluid and organic curved lines, which all contribute to the inherent sensuality, serenity and peace in his works.

 

The major work in the exhibition is titled White Event IV (1966). The White Event series is Imai’s first experiment in Kinetic Art. His fascination for film, and the moving image in the 60’s, led him to add kinetic effects to his work. He considered that movement in art should no longer be merely visualized by an optical effect and instead opted for literal kinetics. Behind a white vertical canvas, he constructed a mechanism moved by a motor which alternatively moves two metallic bars in and out in two parts of the canvas bulging and receding outward appearance. White Event IV synthesizes Imai’s aesthetics from different mediums painting, performance, photography.

 

This exhibition offers an opportunity to discover eight rare works made in 1964-65, that were destroyed and recreated by the artist with ready-made objects and, molded three-dimensional objects between the stretcher and the white painted canvas. The canvas is stretched by the three dimensional object. In 1964-1965 he distinctively used painted white tacks to nail the canvas flat on the stretcher. They are aligned with geometrical patterns, usually surrounding the object, so that they define a clear delimitation between the flat surface and the three dimensional one. Eliminating materiality is what he focused on in the series of early white pieces from his Gutai period.

 

In 1966 Imai started working on the series of paper work which is entitled White Piece. This can be considered as Imai’s rare works on paper.  Only some pieces from this series still remain today; those works were made not only as the completed work in itself but also for studies of new large paintings. The artist applied embossing and punching and made holes on white papers which were cut into indefinite shapes. The completed paper works were attached with a leaflet of Imai’s solo exhibition at Gutai Pinacotheca in 1966.  Subsequently, this motivated his more exploration for paper works in latter half of 1960s. Some works of paper were presented in his solo exhibition in 1967.  He also did some works with screen-printing which were selected by art critic Yusuke Nakahara, and those works were exhibited at Paris Biennale. Other types of Imai’s paper works were selected by art critic Yoshiaki Inui and exhibited at Paper Sculpture Exhibition in 1969 at Gallery Azuchi, Osaka. Unfortunately those works don’t exist anymore.

The exhibition features six paintings entitled White Ceremony with different shaped canvases originally made in 1966 and 1967. He inserted plastic bowls with holes between the canvas and the white canvas and the stretcher.  They have been in high demand due to their sensual reminiscence of feminine shapes. "His work also reflects one of the most important changes that are taking place in our culture. The dimension in which we live today is increasingly shifting towards the feminine. Fluid, matrixial qualities are gaining importance over unambiguous masculinity. I would describe Imai’s work as maternal. In its complete pureness it is pregnant with possibilities.”[1] The canvases become organic bulbous shapes, and white immaterial ethereal spaces. Like Matsutani and Shirley Kaneda’s paintings, these shapes seem to be formed spontaneously and therefore look similar to shapes we encounter in nature. This work also highlights the soft aesthetics that emerged in the 60’s inspired by the technology of the Cold War Space Race. The influence was widespread, offering sumptuous aerodynamic curves to art, design, fashion, and architecture.

 

Imai first exhibited in the Gutai Pinacotheca, Osaka in 1964. He was included in every Gutai exhibition until the group broke up in 1972. He has been featured in Gutai surveys including Gutai II: 1959–1965, at Ashiya City Museum of Art and History in 1993,  Japanese Art After 1945: Scream Against the Sky at Guggenheim Soho and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art in 1994; Gutai: Splendid Playground at Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in 2013. Featured in renowned collections such as the Ashiya City Museum of Art and History, The Museum of Modern Art in Shiga, The Osaka Museum of Modern Art, Hyōgo Prefectural Museum of Art, The Miyagi Museum of Art, The Dallas Museum of Art, The Getty Center, Los Angeles, and Vervoordt Foundation in Wijnegen.



[1] Introduction in the book  Norio Imai published by the Axel Vervoordt Foundation, 2013, p9

Communiqué de presse



NORIO IMAI                                                       White Event                            17 octobre au 28 novembre 2015

 

Galerie Richard a le plaisir de présenter la seconde partie de l’exposition personnelle de Norio Imai à Paris intitulée White Event du 17 octobre au 28 novembre 2015. L’artiste né à Osaka en 1946 a joint l’Association d’Art Gutai en 1965 alors qu’il avait 19 ans, le plus jeune artiste à faire partie de ce mouvement d’avant-garde d’après-guerre. Imai s’est fait reconnaître très tôt par ses peintures monochromes blanches d’une qualité sculpturale. Norio Imai utilise la toile non tant comme support à la peinture mais comme un nouveau médium lui permettant d’expérimenter et développer des peintures en trois dimensions. Ce faisant, Imai joue avec la lumière et ajoute des dégradés au monochrome et il crée des lignes fluides et organiques qui apportent de la sensualité, de la sérénité et de la paix.

 

Suite à sa première exposition de cet été avec des oeuvres récentes des années 2000, cette deuxième exposition présente vingt et une oeuvres conçues entre 1963 et 1969 durant la période Gutai.

 

La pièce majeure sur l'exposition s’intitule White Event IV de 1966. La série White Event IV est la première experience d’art cinétique d’Imai. Sa fascination pour le cinéma et l’image animée des années 60 l’ont amené à l’ajout d’effets cinétiques dans son art. Il considérait que le mouvement en art ne devait plus seulement être visualisé pour ses effets optiques mais plutôt pour sa cinétique. Il a donc créé une toile blanche verticale derrière laquelle il a inventé un mécanisme de rouages avec deux barres métalliques qui enfoncent légèrement  la toile en deux points différents alternativement, actionnées par un moteur électrique. Cette œuvre synthétise et relie toute l’esthétique de Norio Imai dans les différents mediums, peinture, performance, photographie.

 

Un ensemble de huit œuvres rares conçues à ses débuts entre 1964 et 1965 est montré pour la première fois en Europe. Dans ces peintures il a placé des objets ou leurs moulages entre le châssis et la toile. La toile est ainsi tendue par cette inclusion d’objets en trois dimensions. Sur cette période il a utilisé des clous de tapissier dont les peintres se servent pour clouer leur toile sur le chassis. Il les cloue sur le devant de la peinture suivant des alignements géométriques le plus souvent autour de l’objet délimitant ainsi nettement une surface de toile plane et une surface de toile en relief.

 

En 1966 Imai a commencé à concevoir des œuvres sur papier qu’il a appellées White Piece. Ce sont des œuvres sur papier très rares de cet artiste en provenance de son atelier. Non seulement ce sont des œuvres conçues pour elles-mêmes mais elles elle ont servi d’études pour la réalisation de peintures de grande taille. Il appliquait le gaufrage en relief et en enfoncement du papier blanc et découpait des trous cerclés avant de redécouper la forme du papier en des formes variées. L’ensemble de ses œuvres sur papier était attaché à une brochure de l’exposition personnelle d’Imai à la Pinacothèque Gutai en 1966. En conséquence cela l’a motivé à poursuivre son exploration d’œuvres sur papier. Jusqu’aux années 60, Norio Imai a travaillé régulièrement avec le matériau de papier. La plupart des œuvres de cette série furent exposées sur son exposition personnelle en 1967. Il a aussi employé la méthode d’impression sur papier. Des sérigraphies sur papier de Norio Imai avaient été sélectionnées par le critique d’art Yuke Nakahra et furent exposées à la Biennale de Paris. Par ailleurs d’autres œuvres sur papier d’Imai furent sélectionnées par le critique d’art, commissaire d’exposition Yoshiaki Inui et exposées sur l’exposition de papier et de sculptures en 1969 à la Galerie Azuchi, Osaka. Malheureusement ces œuvres n’existent plus.

 

L’exposition comprend six peintures intitulées White Ceremony, de formes de châssis différentes, conçues en 1966 et 1967. Il y a inséré des boules avec un creux. Il a supprimé les clous et laisse la toile prendre naturellement de belles courbures. Ces oeuvres sont très recherchées pour la sensualité des formes, reminiscence de seins féminins. « Son travail reflète aussi un des changements des plus importants qui s’est produit dans notre culture. La dimension dans laquelle nous vivons bascule aujourd'hui de plus en plus vers le féminin. La fluidité, le matriciel gagnent en importance sur la masculinité sans équivoque. Je décrirais le travail d'Imai comme maternel (1) ». La toile prend des formes proéminentes organiques dans un espace éthéré blanc. Comme Matsutani et les peintures de Shirley Kaneda, ces formes semblent se former spontanément et ont donc l'air semblables aux formes que nous rencontrons dans la nature. Cette nouvelle esthétique futuriste et douce apparue dans les années 60 dans l'art, le design, la mode et l’architecture a été aussi inspirée par la course à l'espace pendant la guerre froide.

 

Imai a d'abord exposé á la Gutai Pinacotheca, Osaka en 1964. Il a participé à chaque exposition Gutai jusqu'à la dissolution de l’association en 1972. Il a été présenté sur les expositions du groupe Gutai telles que Gutai II : 1959-1965 au Musée d’art et d’histoire d’Ashiya en 1993, Japanese Art After 1945: Scream Against the Sky au Guggenheim Soho et au Musée d'Art Moderne de San Francisco en 1994, Gutai: Splendid Playground au Musée Solomon R. Guggenheim en 2013. Il est représenté dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées comme le Musée d'Art et d’Histoire d’Ashiya, le Musée d'Art Moderne de Shiga, le Musée d'Osaka d'Art Moderne, le Musée Préfectoral d'Art de Hyōgo, le Musée Miyagi d'Art, le Dallas Museum of Art, le Getty Center de Los Angeles, la Fondation Vervoordt à Wijnegen.

 

(          (1) Introduction dans le livre Norio Imai publié par la Axel Vervoordt Foundation, 2013