Press Release



PHILIPPE GAREL - HERVÉ HEUZÉ                                       December 12, 2015 – February 27, 2016

 

Hervé Heuzé invites Philippe Garel for a duo exhibition at Galerie Richard in Paris, from December 12th 2015 to February 27th 2016. These artists will exhibit together for the first time, and it is also the first exhibition of Philippe Garel at Galerie Richard. Born in Rouen in 1964, Hervé Heuzé is a painter who studied at the Rouen Regional School of Fine Arts from 1983 to 1988. He always knew that he would become a painter, and he appreciated the teachings of Philippe Garel, born in 1945. Garel was the only professor who taught painting there and encouraged students through their vocation as painters. These two artists have worked on a few series with various subjects, and their works are both recognized by their particular talent in presenting light in painting.

 

Philippe Garel is not only a painter, but also a sculptor, (statue of Léon Blum, Léon Blum square in Paris, bust in bronze of Monet, Paré, Laennec, Hippocrate and Paster in Rouen) and a designer-decorator (exhibition Bon usage du faux at Cognacq-Jay Museum). Like Neo Rauch in Germany, he magnifies all subjects represented through his remarkable skills and brings us true pleasure in his painting. Paraphrasing the critique of Gregory Volk in his article about Neo Rauch in "Art in America" (June 2010), the paintings of Garel seem oddly trans-temporal to the point that a single work might suggest simultaneously France of today and past decades, of the romantic 19th century, the beautiful painting of the age of Rembrandt, the dark paintings of the Middle Ages, and the science-fiction of the future. Garel seems to understand that the periods France and Europe encounter are just only moments among others. They correlate with each other endlessly over time, in the cycle of strengthening and weakening, of creation and destruction (paintings and sculptures of mushroom clouds). Touches of irony and humor in his art, which put all subjects on the same level within his paintings, are certainly manifestations of his modesty as well as demonstration of his remarkable talent as a painter, pastellist, and sculptor. « Philippe Garel is a multifaceted artist: painter and pastellist with prestigious skills, sculptor with immoderate fantasy. He has always represented particular worlds for each of his major themes, reinventing Africa, visiting Rembrandt's studio or paying homage to his peers, the great classics of the history of art. Beyond his virtuosity, he shows the vision of a world dominated by whom contributes to the essence of art, an assertive concept of beauty, but never without humor or irony » (Alin Avila, art critic).

 

The exhibition is focused on his paintings and works on paper. It also concentrates on bringing the works throughout several periods together, distinguished by the importance of the representation of light.

 

In 2003, Hervé Heuzé exhibited oil paintings of snowy landscapes of the Mont Blanc by bringing bright lights from within. In 2006 he began a series entitled Abîmes of acrylic sprayed paintings of an underwater world in deep blue color. In 2012 he explored the filtering of color through fabrics placed in front of canvas. His exhibition Attente in 2013 showed a resurgence of human beings in the form of young women posing on a blue landscape of ruins. Today he amazes us with paintings which approach various issues between humans and animals. The considerable advances in medical science, whether genetic or surgical, open the imagination to all kinds of combinations of hybrid beings, half human - half animal. As an artist-painter, it brought him back to the representations of divinities in mythologies, especially those of Greek and Roman, Hindu and Aztec. When the animal was not visually fitting to be hybridized with the human, he represented it in an another relationship with the mankind inspired by literature (The Master and Margarita by Mikhaïl Boulgakov), and film (King Kong) and so on. Sometimes he takes the liberty to create an animal painting which magnifies the animal. He produces an incomparable soft blue-gray light that marks his signature style in most of his works.

 

Philippe Garel, a member of Academy of Fine Arts since 2015, exhibited regularly in Paris, Rouen, Turin, and Bologna. He had his solo exhibitions at the Museum of Sens in 2011, at Cognacq-Jay Museum in Paris in 2007, at Panorama Museum in Bad Frankenhausen in 2002.

 

Hervé Heuzé has been represented by Galerie Richard since 2003. He exhibited at Borusan Contemporary in Istanbul in 2013, and his works have joined their collection. The Emily Davis Gallery at the University of Akron, Ohio, has dedicated a solo exhibition in 2011. He will have his first solo exhibition at Galerie Richard in 2016 in New York.

Communiqué de presse



 Philippe GAREL - Hervé HEUZÉ                        12 décembre 2015 – 27 février 2016

 

Hervé Heuzé invite Philippe Garel sur une exposition en duo à Galerie Richard, Paris, du 12 décembre 2015 au 27 février 2016. C’est la première fois que ces artistes exposent en duo et c’est également la première exposition de Philippe Garel à Galerie Richard. Hervé Heuzé, peintre né à Rouen en 1964, a étudié à l’Ecole régionale des Beaux-Arts de Rouen de 1983 à 1988. Il a toujours su qu’il serait peintre et il a beaucoup apprécié l’enseignement de Philippe Garel, né en 1945, seul professeur à enseigner la peinture et à encourager les étudiants dans leur vocation de peintre. Ces deux artistes ont travaillé sur des séries aux sujets variés, et pour autant on reconnaît pour tous deux leurs œuvres par leur talent particulier à reproduire la lumière en peinture.

 

Philippe Garel est bien sur peintre mais aussi sculpteur, (statue de Léon Blum, place Léon Blum à Paris, bustes en bronze de Monet, Paré, Laennec, Hippocrate et Pasteur à Rouen) et designer-décorateur (exposition Bon usage du faux au Musée Cognacq-Jay, Paris). Comme Neo Rauch en Allemagne, il magnifie tout sujet qu’il traite par sa technique remarquable et nous procure un vrai plaisir propre à la peinture. Pour paraphraser le critique Gregory Volk dans son article sur Neo Rauch dans Art in America (Juin 2010), les peintures de Garel semblent curieusement trans-temporelles au point qu’une seule et même œuvre puisse suggérer à la fois la France d’aujourd’hui et celle des décades passées,du 19 éme siècle romantique, de la belle peinture du siècle de Rembrandt, de la noirceur des peintures du Moyen Âge  et de la science–fiction du futur. Garel semble comprendre que les périodes que la France et l’Europe traversent ne sont que des moments parmi d’autres, qui s’emboitent sans fin dans le temps dans des cycles de croissance et d’affaiblissement, de création et de destruction (peintures et sculpture de champignons atomiques). Cette ironie et humour qui lui fait mettre sur un même plan tout sujet en peinture est sans doute une manifestation de modestie tout autant que la démonstration de son remarquable talent de peintre, pastelliste et dessinateur. «Philippe Garel est un artiste protéiforme: peintre et pastelliste à la technique prestigieuse, sculpteur à la fantaisie démesurée... Il a toujours constitué des univers particuliers pour chacune de ses grandes thématiques, réinventant l’Afrique, visitant l’atelier de Rembrandt ou rendant hommage à ses pairs, les grands classiques de l’histoire de l’art... Au-delà de sa virtuosité se dégage la vision d’un monde dominé par ce qui fait l’essence de l’art, une conception affirmée de la beauté mais jamais sans humour ou ironie », écrit Alin Avila, critique d’art.

L’exposition met l’accent sur ses peintures et oeuvres sur papier et rassemble des oeuvres de plusieurs périodes qui se distinguent par l’importance de la représentation de la lumière.

 

En 2003 Hervé Heuzé exposait des peintures à l’huile de paysages de neige du massif du Mont-Blanc aux lumières vives. En 2006 il commençait une série intitulée Abîmes de peintures acryliques au pistolet aux tonalités bleu sombre envoutantes d’un univers sous-marin. En 2012 il explorait le filtrage de la couleur au travers de tissus posés devant la toile. Son exposition Attente en 2013 marquait la résurgence de l’être humain sous la forme de jeunes femmes posant dans un paysage bleu de ruines. Aujourd’hui il nous surprend avec des peintures qui abordent différentes problématiques entre l’Homme et l’animal. Les avancées considérables des sciences médicales, que ce soit la génétique ou la chirurgie ouvrent l’imaginaire à toutes sortes de combinaisons d’êtres hybrides, mi-humains - mi-animaux. En tant qu’artiste-peintre, cela l’a ramené aux représentations de divinités dans les mythologies notamment grecques et romaines, indoues et aztèques. Lorsque l’animal ne convenait pas plastiquement à une hybridation avec l’homme il l’a représenté dans une autre relation avec l’homme inspirée par la littérature (Le Maître et Marguerite de Mikhaïl Boulgakov), le cinéma (King Kong)…Parfois il prend la liberté de réaliser une peinture animalière qui magnifie l’animal. On retrouve dans ces dernières oeuvres cette incomparable douce lumière bleu-gris qui fait sa signature.

 

Philippe Garel, membre de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts depuis 2015, a exposé régulièrement dans les galeries de Paris, Rouen, Turin, Bologne. Il a eu des expositions personnelles au Musée de Sens en 2011, au Musée Cognacq-Jay à Paris en 2007, au Panorama Museum à Bad Frankenhausen en 2002.

 

Hervé Heuzé est représenté à Galerie Richard depuis 2003. Il a exposé à Borusan Contemporary à Istanbul en 2013 et ses oeuvres sont rentrées dans leur collection. La Emily Davis Gallery à l'Université d'Akron, Ohio, lui a consacré une exposition personnelle en 2011. Il aura sa première exposition personnelle à New York en 2016 à Galerie Richard.