Press Release



Lauren MARSOLIER               Dislocation                            October 12 – November 20, 2016

 

Galerie Richard, New York is pleased to present the third solo exhibition by Lauren Marsolier titled Dislocation from October 12 to November 20, 2016. Located somewhere between fiction and reality, her images represent a mental landscape affected by a world of constant change. They show an unreality, transitional non-places where human action and inhabitation are recorded in strange antithesis of nature and artifice, or, better still, artificial nature and natural artifice.

 

In a world where photographs are taken and shared in an instant, Marsolier’s images go through many stages and possibilities before finding their definitive form. Created from multiple photographs captured in a variety of locations, each composition is shaped slowly, over time, layer by layer, through trial and error. This approach allows her to represent the world photographically without showing a specific place, focusing instead on a mental experience. Hers is a kind of perceptual photography, exploring what is sensed rather than the immediately visible. In a composite photograph, liberated from the single point of view of indexical representation, a new visual vocabulary can emerge. A subtle combination of multiple perspectives, lighting sources, and distances is used to produce disorientation in the viewer. The landscapes are ambivalent, familiar and yet not identifiable. The work probes our relationship to a globalizing world, marked by the loss of its certainties and an overall sense of placelessness. It constructs an experiential bridge between self and environment, blending the physical landscape with the landscape of the mind. As art critic George Melrod put it, the work exists 'in a limbo-like, in-between state, between fiction and document, between virtual and physical reality. Collector William M. Hunt coined a new word to define her works: e-scapes (1).

 

Marsolier currently lives and works in Los Angeles. In 2015, she was included in a panel discussion at the Tate Modern in London discussing contemporary landscape photography, along with Thomas Struth and other major photographers. Her work is included in the collections of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Center for Creative Photography and the Phoenix Art Museum. Her 2015 monograph Transition published by Kerber Verlag received the International Photography Award First Prize in the Fine Art Book category. Marsolier is the recipient of the 2013 Houston Center for Photography fellowship award, which included a solo exhibition of her work at the institution. In 2013, she was also featured in the London exhibition Landmark: The Fields of Photography, curated by William Ewing at the Somerset House. In 2013, she was featured in the British Journal of Photography as one of 20 photographers to watch. She was also part of the Humble Art Foundation 2012 selection of "31 Women in Art Photography". Her work has been reviewed in such magazines as Artforum, Art LTD, the Huffington Post to name a few.

 

(1) Here. Now. Nowhere. Essay by William M. Hunt published inTransition – Lauren Marsolier, Kerber Editions

Communiqué de presse



 

Lauren MARSOLIER                Dislocation                                12 octobre –  20 novembre 2016

 

Galerie Richard, New York, a le plaisir de présenter la 3e exposition personnelle de Lauren Marsolier intitulée Dislocation du 12 octobre au 20 novembre 2016. Situées quelque part entre fiction et réalité, ses images représentent des paysages mentaux affectés par un monde aux changements incessants. Elles présentent des non-lieux irréels et transitionnels où des actions humaines et des constructions sont enregistrées en antithèses étranges nature - artifice ou mieux encore nature artificielle - artifice naturel.

 

Dans un monde où les photographies sont prises et partagées en un instant, les images de Marsolier s’élaborent en plusieurs étapes et possibilités avant de trouver leur forme définitive. Créées à partir d’une multitude de photographies prises dans les lieux les plus divers, chaque composition est formée lentement, avec le temps, couche sur couche, au travers d’un processus d’essais et erreurs. Cette approche lui permet de représenter le monde photographiquement sans montrer un endroit spécifique, concentrant ainsi l’attention sur une expérience mentale. Sa photographie est une photographie de perception qui explore ce qui est ressenti plutôt que ce qui est immédiatement visible. Dans une photographie composite libérée du point de vue unique de la représentation indiciaire, un vocabulaire visuel nouveau peut émerger. Une combinaison subtile de multiples perspectives, de différentes sources de lumière, et distances, est utilisée pour produire une désorientation du regardeur. Les paysages sont ambivalents, familiers et pourtant non identifiables. Ce travail sonde notre relation avec un monde globalisé marqué par la perte de certitudes et une impression d’ensemble de non-lieux (au sens géographique). Il construit un pont lié à ce dont on a fait l’expérience entre le soi et l’environnement, mélangeant le paysage physique et le paysage de l’esprit. Comme l’a énoncé le critique d’art George Melrod, « les œuvres existent dans un entre-deux, encore dans les limbes, entre fiction et document, entre virtuel et réalité physique ». Le collectionneur William M. Hunt a inventé un nouveau mot pour définir ses œuvres : « e-scapes » (1).

 

Lauren Marsolier vit et travaille à Los Angeles. En 2015 elle était invitée à une table ronde à la Tate Modern à Londres sur le sujet du paysage contemporain en photographie avec Thomas Struth et d’autres artistes renommés. Ses œuvres sont entrées dans les collections du Los Angeles County Museum of Art, du Center for Creative Photography à Tucson et du Phoenix Art Museum. Sa monographie Transition publiée par Kerber Verlag a reçu le International Photography Awards 2015 First prize dans la catégorie livres d’art. Marsolier a reçu le prix 2013 du Houston Center for Photography Fellowship Award, suivi d’une exposition personnelle dans l’institution. En 2013 elle participa à l’exposition Landmark : The Fields of Photography, organisée par William Ewing à Somerset House à Londres. En 2013 le British Journal of Photography l’a distinguée comme l’une des 20 photographes à voir. Elle a été aussi sélectionnée en 2012 par la Humble Art Foundation dans les « 31 Women in Art Photography ». Les magazines Artforum, Art LTD, the Huffington Post…ont publié des articles sur ses expositions.

 

(1)   Here. Now. Nowhere. Essai par William M. Hunt publié dans Transition – Lauren Marsolier, Kerber Editions