Press Release



Alice Stepanek & Steven Maslin             Tour*Redetour                   17th January – 28th February 2009



Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard features the third solo exhibition of the German and English couple Alice Stepanek & Steven Maslin entitled “Tour*Redetour” from 17th January till 28th February 2009. Alice Stepanek and Steven Maslin are an example of those artists who exploit a single theme: that of nature and its representation, since the beginning of the 1980s. They continue to explore these themes and intensify the paradoxical relationship between man and nature. At a time when global warming is no longer doubted, Stepanek and Maslin have followed with great interest the scientific research on the subject and have integrated it in their paintings using differing motives.

The spectator confronts a vertically distributed landscape and even horizontal landscape by conspicuous for the tree trunks that invade the foreground and sever the image in several “frames”, each enclosing disparate landscapes. Some of these fragments remind one of a blurry horizontal snapshot made with a photo or a video camera, whereas the rest of the fragments remains stable and precise. Some recent paintings show vertical fragmentation without interruption of tree trunks. Sometimes, different parts are assembled by a formal link: on other occasions they ignore a formal point of view as well as  established visual codes, with a horizon line whose height varies rising or descending on the canvas. More than anytime before, we find ourselves in an irregular space-time continuum.  The skies of the latest works are charged with impressive white and dynamic clouds reminding of Reynolds’s English skies. Sometimes tree trunks levitate in the painting confusing the spectator. The artists are returning to human representations as well, though they’re still limited only to parts of a human body. Finally, an original architectural structure in the shape of a cross, illuminates a dark blue sky and stands out against the shadows of the trees.

The title of the exhibition “Tour*Redetour” evokes not only circularity but also disarray. The artists create a pictorial space that is difficult to date and in which one’s situation is uncertain. It’s not a heavenly ideal, but it’s not a representation of a post-human era either. With different compositional techniques, the artists suggest a familiar and yet a disparate world, radiating a dystopic rather than a utopic vision, which interrogates the relationship between culture and nature.

Alice Stepanek and Steven Maslin are supported by many art galleries around the globe and are exhibited in several museums and art centres as well as international art fairs.

Communiqué de presse



Alice Stepanek & Steven Maslin                 Tour*Redetour                    17 janvier – 28 février 2009


La Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard présente la troisième exposition personnelle du duo d’artistes allemand anglais Alice Stepanek & Steven Maslin au titre de « Tour*Redetour »  du 17 janvier au 28 février 2009. Alice Stepanek and Steven Maslin font partie de ces artistes qui traitent un seul thème: celui de la nature et de sa représentation, cela dès leurs débuts dans les années 80. Ils continuent d’explorer ces thèmes et approfondissent les rapports paradoxaux entre l’homme et la nature. Au moment où le réchauffement climatique n’est plus contesté, leurs peintures gagnent en intensité. Stepanek et Maslin ont suivi avec grand intérêt les développements scientifiques à ce sujet et les ont intégrés à leurs tableaux sous diverses formes.

Le spectateur est confronté à un paysage segmenté dans le sens vertical et même horizontal par des troncs d’arbres proéminents qui envahissent le premier plan et divisent l’image en plusieurs « cadres », renfermant chacun des paysages disparates. Certains de ces fragments renvoient à un filé horizontal d’une prise de vue à l’appareil photographique ou à la caméra, alors que les autres fragments sont stables et nets.  Certaines peintures récentes présentent des fragmentations verticales sans coupures de troncs. Parfois, les différentes parties sont assemblées par un lien formel ; d’autres fois, elles ignorent l’orientation du regard et les conventions visuelles, avec une ligne d’horizon à hauteur variable qui monte et descend sur la toile. On se retrouve dans des espaces-temps différents. Les ciels des nouvelles œuvres sont chargés de gros nuages blancs dynamiques. On pense aux ciels anglais des peintures de Reynolds. Parfois les troncs d’arbres sont en lévitation sans qu’on puisse comprendre ce qui arrive. On note le retour de la représentation humaine même si là encore le corps n’apparaît que partiellement. Enfin, une architecture originale de tour en forme de croix, illumine un ciel bleu sombre et se détache des ombres d’arbres. Le titre de l’exposition « Tour*Redetour » évoque non seulement la circularité mais encore l’égarement. Les artistes créent un espace pictural qu’il est difficile de dater  et dans lequel notre état demeure incertain. Ce n’est ni un idéal paradisiaque, ni une représentation de l’ère post-humaine. Avec des procédés de composition variés, ils suggèrent un monde familier et cependant disparate d’où émerge une vision dystopique plus qu’utopique, qui interroge la relation entre culture et nature.


Alice Stepanek and Steven Maslin sont soutenus par un nombre important de galeries au travers le monde et exposent régulièrement dans de nombreux musées et centres d’art ainsi que dans les foires d’art internationales.