Press Release



Sven-Ole Frahm and Lorenzo Pompa                (Path de deux)                     22nd November – 10th January 2009

 

Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard brings together Sven-Ole Frahm and Lorenzo Pompa in an exhibition titled « Path de deux » from the 22nd November 2008 to 10th January 2009. Sven-Ole Frahm invites Lorenzo Pompa to share half of the exhibition space. Both artists will suggest a dialogue between painting and sculpture following a specific itinerary orchestrated by a disposition of horizontal and vertical sculptures and by the rhythm of the different canvas sizes.

Sven-Ole Frahm was born in 1972 and lives in Berlin. Lorenzo Pompa was born in 1962 and lives in Düsseldorf. Sven-Ole Frahm is one of the actors of the new abstraction in Germany. Lorenzo Pompa appears as one of the most promising young German sculptors. In both cases, this new form of abstraction does not originate in the elevation to transcendence and sublimation, but in an inspiration from the pictorial practice of abstract painting. Sven-Ole Frahm spreads liquid acrylic paint on a canvas laid on the floor. Guided by the artist who controls the flow of the patch, it spreads according to the imperfections of the ground. In his newest paintings, he adds a gestural calligraphy that enriches his palette and transforms his paintings in polychrome symphonies. In order to convey the second geometrical aesthetic, Sven-Ole Frahm cuts up the painted canvas in straight pieces of quadrangular, rectangular and diamond-shaped forms. As it was a puzzle of which he had already imagined the final image, he sows the pieces together in a new arrangement. This way he adds a geometrical structure to the swaying colors that collide with the borders of each fraction of the painting.

Lorenzo Pompa creates white plaster sculptures. Their whiteness unites them in a general fashion of “crisp elegance”. It becomes obvious that these blocs gather geometrical elements suggesting stone, marble in particular, and curved elements, giving them the physiognomy of bubble-wrapped or baggie-wrapped objects. To sum up, we could say that Lorenzo Pompa stages an instructive show of a wild wasteland filled with plastic bags and miscellaneous materials covering a field of ancient ruins. He blends in a single white organic volume a meticulous geometrical aesthetic conveying solidity and an organic and chaotic aesthetic of a soft and fragile material. Surprisingly, Lorenzo Pompa’s columns betray a more classical elegance despite the strangeness of their complex and improbable forms. At the same time, these columns rotate, twist and seem to be composed of an accumulation of various materials. Both astonishingly stable and potentially unstable, in a way they feature a contemporary baroque style.

Sven-Ole Frahm participated in the exhibition Compilation III in the Kunsthalle in Düsseldorf in 2007 and was granted the 60th Bergischer Kunstpreis 2006 of the Kunstmuseum Solingen. His works are exhibited in galleries in Düsseldorf, Berlin, Amsterdam and Paris. Lorenzo Pompa has taken part in the exhibition SkulpturSkulptur in the Kunstmuseum Mülheim an der Ruhr in 2007 and has had a solo exhibition at the Kunstverein Wilhelmshöhe, in Ettligen in 2006. His works are exhibited in galleries in Düsseldorf and Delft.

Communiqué de presse



Sven-Ole Frahm et Lorenzo Pompa                         (Path de deux)                      22 novembre – 10 janvier 2009



Galerie Richard réunit Sven-Ole Frahm et Lorenzo Pompa du 22 novembre au 10 janvier 2009 dans une exposition intitulée « (Path de deux) ». Sven-Ole Frahm invite Lorenzo Pompa à partager une moitié de la surface d’exposition avec lui. Ces deux artistes vont proposer un dialogue entre peinture et sculpture au travers d’un parcours dans les espaces d’exposition de la galerie canalisé par l’agencement des sculptures horizontales et des sculptures verticales et par le rythme d’accrochage des tableaux de différents formats.

Sven-Ole Frahm est né en 1972 et vit à Berlin. Lorenzo Pompa est né en 1962 et vit à Düsseldorf. Sven-Ole Frahm est un représentant de la nouvelle peinture abstraite en Allemagne. Lorenzo Pompa s’inscrit comme l’un des plus prometteurs jeunes sculpteurs allemands. Pour tous les deux leurs créations ne tirent pas leur origine dans une élévation à la transcendance et à la sublimation mais dans un ressourcement dans leur pratique. Ils font coexister en harmonie une esthétique fluide faite de courbes qui suivent un ordre d’apparence spontanée que l’on retrouve dans la nature et une esthétique géométrique de lignes droites horizontales, verticales et diagonales qui renvoient à un ordre dirigiste. Sven Ole-Frahm répand sur une toile posée au sol de la peinture acrylique liquide. Elle va se répandre en fonction des accidents du sol, aidé par l’artiste qui guide le flux d’expansion de la tâche. Dans ses nouvelles peintures, il rajoute une calligraphie gestuelle qui enrichit sa palette de couleurs et  transforme ses peintures en symphonies polychromes. Pour introduire la deuxième esthétique géométrique, Sven-Ole Frahm va découper la toile peinte en sections droites, en formes carrées, rectangulaires, triangulaires et losanges. Tel un puzzle dont il a déjà imaginé l’image finale, il va recomposer, recréer, une même surface de toile en cousant les différentes pièces. Ainsi il ajoute une structuration géométrique aux coulures ondulantes qui butent sur les diverses bordures de chaque morceau de toile.

Lorenzo Pompa crée des sculptures en plâtre blanc. Leur blancheur les unifie dans une forme générale d’une « élégance laconique ». On s’aperçoit vite que ces blocs assemblent des éléments géométriques suggérant la pierre, en particulier le marbre et des éléments en rondeurs, laissant penser à des objets emballés dans des sacs plastiques ou du plastique bulle. Pour caricaturer on dirait que Lorenzo Pompa nous offre le spectacle édifiant d’une décharge sauvage de sacs plastiques et de matériaux divers sur un champ de ruines antiques. Il fusionne en une seule masse blanche une esthétique géométrique rigoureuse suggérant la solidité et une esthétique organique et chaotique d’un matériau mou et fragile. On ne peut s’empêcher de trouver une élégance classique aux colonnes de Lorenzo Pompa malgré l’étrangeté de leurs formes complexes et improbables. En même temps ces colonnes pivotent sur leurs axes, elles sont torsadées et paraissent composées d’un amoncellement de matières diverses. À la fois miraculeusement stables et potentiellement instables, elles relèvent tout autant sinon plus d’un baroque contemporain.


Sven-Ole Frahm a participé à l’exposition Compilation III à la Kunsthalle de Düsseldorf en 2007 et à reçu le 60e Bergischer Kunstpreis 2006 au Kunstmuseum Solingen. Il expose en galeries à Düsseldorf, Berlin, Amsterdam et Paris. Lorenzo Pompa a participé en 2007 à l’exposition SkulpturSkulptur au Kunstmuseum Mülheim an der Ruhr et a eu une exposition personnelle au Kunstverein Wilhelmshöhe, à Ettlingen en 2006. Il expose en galeries à Düsseldorf et Delft.