Press Release



 Pedro Barbeito                                         September 6 - 28, 2008

        
                           
Jean-Luc and Takako Richard are pleased to present a selection of Pedro Barbeito’s paintings made in  2007.
Barbeito's work examines the relationship between digital image-making and painting. By exploring their connections, he reveals new ways in which painting can challenge the ways in which we understand and process images. The artist mixes different techniques of painting and on each canvas and you can see a variety of textures. His figurative representations with sharp lines and strong contrasts can be compared to wooden engravings by German expressionnists, suggesting a strong dramatic intensity. These present volatile worlds being digitally represented, we can also find other fragmented images and some lost pixels floating in space. These varied elements don’t tell us a story but pieces of stories in which violence appears in its historical continuity.

His paintings are vertical or horizontal ovals They are completely saturated by many pieces of information, abstract and figurative images mixed together. It seems that the  oval space of these paintings is absorbing all our visual world. We can also imagine that time is compressed as historical and contemporary images get superimposed.

Pedro Barbeito, a New York-based painter, was born in La Coruña, Spain in 1969 and received his MFA in painting from Yale University. Barbeito’s work has been exhibited at the Aldrich Museum of Contemporary Art, Museo Rufino Tamayo in Mexico City, Whitechapel Art Gallery in London, and Exit Art among others.  He is a recipient of the Louis Comfort Tiffany Biennial Award.

Communiqué de presse



Pedro Barbeito                                                 6  -  27 septembre 2008

                                                                                            
La Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard a le plaisir de vous représenter une sélection d’ œuvres de Pedro Barbeito présentées en 2007.
L’artiste examine les relations entre la création digitale et la peinture. En mettant en scène des rencontres inattendues entre ces deux médiums, Barbeito ouvre de nouvelles voies permettant à la peinture de provoquer, stimuler nos réflexions sur notre compréhension des images et leur fabrication. L’artiste manie plusieurs techniques de peinture et il nous donne à voir une grande variété de textures. Sa représentation figurative s’apparente à l’esthétique de la  gravure des peintres expressionnistes avec des contrastes et des lignes tranchés, dégageant une forte une intensité dramatique. Le monde actuel étant entièrement visualisable aujourd’hui sous forme digitale, nous retrouvons aussi dans ses peintures des fragments d’images digitales et des pixels égarés qui flottent dans l’espace pictural.. Ces éléments disparates ne racontent pas une histoire mais des fragments d’histoires où la guerre apparaît dans sa constante historique.

Ses tableaux sont de format ovale, horizontal ou vertical. Ils sont complètement saturés par de multiples éléments d’information, d’images figuratives et abstraites. C’est comme si l’espace de ces peintures  absorbait tout notre univers visuel. On peut aussi imaginer que le temps s’est compressé et que les images se superposent. Dans tous les cas il se dégage une sensation de violence, d’anxiété face à un monde complexe.

Pedro Barbeito est né à La Coruña en Espagne en 1969 et vit à New York. Il est diplômé en Mastère en peinture de l’Université de Yale. Ses œuvres ont été exposées au Musée d’Art Contemporain d’Aldrich, au Musée Rufino Tamayo au Mexique, à la Galerie Whitechapel à Londres.