Press Release



Shirley Kaneda                                                          Provocative Pleasure                                                         June 6th – July 25th 2009

Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard is pleased to announce the opening  Shirley Kaneda's second solo exhibition "Provocative Pleasure" from June 6th until July 25th, 2009.

Shirley Kaneda presents seven new paintings of two different sizes. We find elements of the abstract style she has been developing since 2000, namely her undulatory, fluid and complex disturbances which are all curved and which remind us of light reflections on liquid surfaces and/or surface liquids of different densitites. These shapes seem unstable and fleeting yet the paintings are freeze frames. They can develop within the space, either stretching out or clustering together in compact blocks which overlap one another. For the most part these new works open onto immaterial spaces due to the flatness and delicacy of numerous layers of oil paint applied in meticulous brushstrokes. 

This new work marks an important development: Shirely Kaneda reintroduces a geometric style defined by the use of horizontal and vertical lines as well as by the arches of circles. These geometric elements seem fixed and stable unlike the style previously described. Today in one painting, Shirely Kaneda combines fluid and undulatory patterns with geometric elements bound by another order and another timeframe.

The four big paintings are in fact shown in chronological order, allowing us to comprehend the artist's creative development. The painting "Provocative Pleasure" is the first example of the geometric shape within fluid shapes: a rectangular white frame which separates two infinite spaces with inverse gradations of colour. Around the edges of the painting there are three distinct groups of fluid shapes: the first in the top left corner stretches downwards forming a delicate curve, the second compact and stable shape in the bottom right hand corner, and then the third which is in fact a cluster of various different coloured biomorphic shapes which float at the top of the painting. In this picture the white geometric shape is present but only in the second layer of the painting. Thus the three groups of fluid shapes in the foreground remain dominant. This painting is certainly the most meditative due to the sheer size of the infinite coloured spaces in which greens and yellows stand out against the reds of the fluid shapes. "Enchanting Ennui", the second big painting chronologically speaking, achieves a true balance between two abstract styles. It is in this sense a great success. The geometric shape, which could also be seen as a number of overlapping shapes, is made up of both rigt angled and circular shapes, which coexistent in perfect proportion to one another. This second painting is also brought together by the colour palette predominantly made up of pinks, reds and purples. On the one hand we find a large geometric shape which is softened by the numerous empty spaces within the frames. On the other hand the artist positions fluid shapes on the painting which are either small and compact or larger and more dispersed. As well as this first balance we also find a second harmony within the geometric structure itself. It is in this work alone that we find texture in the painting and it is to be found in the dark pink sinuous form on the right hand edge. The third painting, "Thunderous Silence", is the most graphic. Again we find the white background so dear to the artist. Rectangular shapes and one round shape are linked together, for the most part, by very dark purple rectangular frames. Again we find three fluid shapes which seem to float above or maybe even below the geometric shapes. For the first time the effects of superimposing appear. They are still very faint but they perhaps mark a creative opening for the future. Unlike the two previous paintings the colour palette is varied and the colours well defined. This painting is the most graphic of the exhibition, on the one hand because of the relationship between contrasting colours and on the other because of the sombre colour of the rectangular frame. The geometric structuring based on shapes and dark horizontal and vertical lines has taken prime of place over the complex fluid shapes. By contrast we realise that the green-yellow rectangle is partially eaten away by a cut-out of the white background. This partial destruction of the rectangle becomes a vibration created by the blue and white fluid shape next to it. So we find a remarkable intentional creation which translates the relationship between forces and shapes. The fourth big painting, "Lucid Ambiguity", is the most complex. If "Provocative Pleasure" is the easiest to decipher then the interpretation of this last painting is certainly the most difficult. A full appreciation requires a long time spent in front of the work. The geometric shape is made up of various different rectangular frames whose corners overlap, creating one vertical mass on the right hand side of the painting. Each frame contains part of a series of circular shapes which come out of the frame. Three vertical lines on the far left hand side and other vertical lines to the center left complete the geometric style. The background is white except for on the far right hand side of the canvas, between the frame shapes, and the left hand side of the painting where it is light purple. This picture contains only two fluid shapes: a compact shape similar to that in "Provocative Pleasure" is situated in the lower right, covering the four vertical lines and the group of frames, the second is positionned on the center left in a white space, over vertical lines. It is a small and strange shape. This painting was formulated on the canvas itself rather than on the computer. It was therefore a long creative process characterised by numerous modifications. The juxtaposition of the fluid shape over the ensemble of geometric shapes is complex, so much so that the colour palette of this painting is for the most part limited to different purples, rendering the distinction between shapes evermore difficult. It is undoubtedly the work containing the most elaborate composition with a marked contrast between empty and filled space. By means of these four paintings we are able to witness the progressive process that is the creation of complexities within geometric patterns and the rich and varied dialogue that occurs between the two styles developed by Shirely Kaneda.

The shapes in Shirley Kaneda's oil paintings are always produced to the same scale. As a result, in her medium sized works, she only has room to depict one fluid shape in the center of the painting. Here she presents three medium sized paintings, one horizontal and two vertical. The horizontal painting, "Restless Serenity" is made up of horizontal stripes behind a fluid compact shape. This shape seems to grow horizontally and towards the bottom right in such a way that the shapes seem to be coming out of the bottom of the painting. Visually, the direction of the stripes of colour suggests a primarily horizontal expansion of the fluid substance and/or a horizontal shift. Although the colours are extremely varied they continue to work well together. The two vertical paintings with vertical stripes have the effect of locking in the fluid shape and therefore rendering it immobile or in any case more stable. This effect is confirmed by the shape itself which is intense and doesn't seem to expand in the given space like the shape from the horizontal painting. "Comfortable Angst" presents relatively large stripes of gentle colours on a white background whilst the fluid shape in the foreground of the painting reuses these colours only in darker shades. Two horizontal lines mark out the two horizontal edges of the frame displaying colours which change according to the vertical stripes. In the painting "Energetic Fatigue" we find the same shape in the foreground, positioned in exactly the same way and using similar darker colours. The central vertical stripe is a light colour whilst the exterior stripes are darker, one of which being bright blue. The stripes go from top to bottom of the painting. If we compare the effects of different contrasting colours on the image as a whole, we find that in the second, more contrasted painting there is a more notable difference between the first and second vertical layers. Elsewhere, due to their contrast with the white, the bright blue exterior stripes enclose the fluid shape in a rigid frame in which the only possibility of evenutal movement will be a vertical one. The first painting seems less elongated due to the stripes along both horizontal edges and due to the pastel colour of these stripes. The fluid shape too seems bigger as it is more visible at it's vertical extremities which are better detached from the stripes. The fluid form seems stable as it is enclosed in softness by the stripes of the painting's four edges. 

The titles of Shirley Kaneda's paintings are oxymorons that couldn’t be more appropriate in this day and age. By allowing two radically different artistic styles to coexist, she presents us visual oxymorons. that act as a stimulant for our own thought. In a world where all types of conflicts tend to be pushed to their extremities, Shirley Kaneda’s paintings show us that it is possible, with care and understanding, to find ways for different systems, ideas, and people –merely neighbours-- to live together.

Shirley Kaneda was born in Japan. She moved to New York in 1970 and obtained her American citizenship. She received the Guggenheim Foundation Award in 1999 and currently exhibits in many different cities in the U.S., Europe, and Australia.

Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard published a monography of the artist with an essay by Brooks Adams.

Communiqué de presse



 Shirley Kaneda                                                           Provocative Pleasure                                                          6 juin - 25 juillet 2009
 
La Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard est heureuse d’annoncer la deuxième exposition personnelle de Shirley Kaneda intitulée « Provocative Pleasure » du 6 juin au 25 juillet 2009.
 
Shirley Kaneda présente sept nouvelles peintures en deux formats. On retrouve des éléments de son langage abstrait qu'elle a développé à partir de 2000, à savoir ses pertubations ondulatoires fluides complexes, toutes en courbes qui rappellent des reflets de lumière sur des surfaces liquides ou/et des repartitions des liquides de densités différents en surface. Ces formes semblent mouvantes et éphémères. Ces peintures sont donc des arrêts sur images. Elles peuvent se développer dans l'espace, comme étirées, ou s'agglutiner en blocs compacts entièrement imbriqués les uns dans les autres. À une ecception près ses nouvelles oeuvres ouvrent sur des espaces immateriels du fait de la planéité et de la finesse de couches successives de peinture à l'huile posées minutieusement avec des pinceaux fins.

Ce nouveau travail marque une évolution importante : Shirley Kaneda réintroduit un langage géométrique défini par l’usage de lignes horizontales et verticales ainsi que par l’arc de cercle. Ces éléments géométriques semblent figés et stables à l’opposé du langage décrit précédemment. Shirley Kaneda aujourd’hui met en relation dans une même peinture un ordonnancement fluide, ondulatoire avec des éléments géométriques soumis à un autre ordre et à une autre temporalité.

Les quatre grandes peintures sont en fait présentées par ordre chronologique ce qui permet de saisir l’évolution créatrice de l’artiste. La peinture intitulée « Provocative Pleasure » marque la première apparition de la forme géométrique au sein de formes fluides : un cadre blanc rectangulaire qui sépare deux espaces infinis aux dégradés inversés. Trois groupes distincts de formes fluides sont positionnées sur les bords extérieurs du tableau : la première dans l’angle supérieur gauche s’étire vers le bas formant une courbe délicate, la seconde compacte et stable dans l’angle inférieur droit et la troisième, en fait un amas de formes biomorphiques de différentes couleurs en flottaison en haut du tableau. Dans cette peinture, la forme géométrique blanche apparaît mais reste au second plan. Les trois groupes de formes fluides en premier plan gardent la prédominance. Cette peinture est certainement la plus méditative par l’ampleur de ses espaces colorés infinis dont les couleurs de vert au jaune tranchent avec les couleurs plus rouges des formes fluides. Le second grand tableau chronologiquement parlant, intitulé « Enchanting Ennui » atteint un vrai équilibre entre les deux langages abstraits. Il est en cela une grande réussite. La forme géométrique qui pourrait se révéler être plusieurs formes superposées se compose elle-même à la fois de formes à angles droits et de formes en cercles qui coexistent également dans un parfait dosage. Ce second tableau est unifié aussi par la palette des couleurs à dominante de roses, rouges et violets. D’un côté nous avons une forme  géométrique de grande taille mais légère par de multiples vides entre des formes de châssis. D’autre part l’artiste positionne des formes fluides petites et compactes ou plus grandes et en dispersion. À ce premier équilibre général se rajoute une seconde harmonie au sein même de la structure géométrique. C’est uniquement dans cette oeuvre que l’on trouve de la matière en relief dans la forme rose foncée sinueuse située au bord droit. Le troisième grand tableau intitulé « Thunderous Silence » est la plus graphique. On retrouve le fond blanc cher à l’artiste. Des formes rectangulaires et une forme ronde sont pour la plupart reliées par des cadres rectangulaires en violet très foncé. On y retrouve trois formes fluides qui semblent flotter par-dessus voire au-dessous des formes géométriques. Pour la première fois apparaissent des effets de superposition, encore très légers, mais qui marquent peut-être une ouverture créatrice future. La palette des couleurs est variée les couleurs tranchées, différente des deux précédentes peintures. De part de rapport de couleurs contrastes et de part l’aspect très sombre des cadres rectangulaires, cette peinture est la plus graphique de l’exposition. La structuration géométrique à base de formes et lignes horizontales et verticales sombres a pris le dessus sur les formes fluides et complexes. On s’aperçoit à contrario, que le rectangle vert-jaune est amputé partiellement par une découpe de forme fluide du fond blanc. Cette destruction partielle correspond à une vibration engendrée par la forme fluide bleue et blanche qui est à côté. Il y a là une invention formelle remarquable qui traduit un rapport de forces entre les formes. La quatrième grande peinture « Lucid Ambiguity » est la plus complexe. Si « Provocative Pleasure » est la peinture la plus facile à lire, la dernière est celle dont la lecture est la plus difficile et dont l’appréciation nécessite une longue présence devant l’œuvre. La forme géométrique est composée de plusieurs cadres rectangulaires superposés dans leurs coins, formant une seule masse verticale sur la partie droite du tableau. Chaque cadre contient une composition de formes rondes qui sortent hors du cadre. Trois lignes verticales sur l’extrême bordure gauche et d’autres lignes verticales à gauche mais plus centrées complètent le langage géométrique. Le fond est blanc sauf à l’extrême droite de la toile entre les formes de cadres et le bord gauche du tableau où il est d’un lilas léger. Deux formes fluides seulement rentrent dans la composition : une forme compacte comparable à celle de « Provocative Pleasure » est placée dans le bas gauche qui recouvre les quatre lignes verticales et l’ensemble de cadres, la seconde est positionnée au centre gauche dans l’espace blanc et sur les lignes verticales. C’est une forme étrange de petite taille. Cette peinture a été improvisée sur la toile au lieu d’être conçue sur ordinateur. Il en est résulté un long processus créatif et des modifications nombreuses. La juxtaposition de la forme fluide sur l’ensemble de cadres géométriques est complexe, d’autant que la palette de couleurs de ce tableau pour l’essentiel est limitée à différents violets, ce qui rend plus difficile la distinction des formes. C’est incontestablement l’œuvre dont la composition est la plus recherchée avec un contraste marqué entre le vide et le plein. Au travers de ces quatre peintures on assiste à la complexification progressive des ensembles géométriques et à des dialogues riches et variés entre les deux langages abstraits que développe Shirley Kaneda.                                                 
  
Shirley Kaneda travaille ses formes en une seule échelle en peinture à l’huile. Il en résulte que dans ses formats moyens elle ne peut représenter qu’une seule forme fluide centrée. Elle présente trois peintures de format moyen, une horizontale et deux verticales. Le tableau horizontal au titre de « Restless Serenity » comprend des bandes horizontales en arrière-plan de la forme fluide. Celle-ci semble se développer horizontalement vers la droite et vers le bas du tableau, de sorte que des formes semblent sortir du bord bas du tableau. Le sens de ces bandes suggère visuellement une expansion principalement horizontale de la substance fluide et/ou son déplacement horizontal. Les couleurs bien que très variées s’harmonisent avec grâce. Les deux peintures verticales aux bandes de couleurs verticales ont pour effet d’enfermer la forme fluide et de la rendre ainsi immobile ou en tout cas plus stable. Cette impression est confirmée par la forme même qui est concentrée et ne semble pas se développer en expansion dans l’espace comme celle du tableau horizontal. « Comfortable Angst » présente des bandes verticales relativement larges aux couleurs douces sur fond blanc alors que la forme fluide du premier plan reprend les mêmes couleurs en plus foncé. Deux bandes horizontales délimitent les deux bordures horizontales du châssis avec des couleurs qui changent avec les bandes. On retrouve la même forme du premier plan pour l’essentiel avec les mêmes couleurs plus sombres, positionnée de la même façon dans la peinture intitulée « Energetic Fatigue ». La bande verticale centrale est de couleur claire alors que les bandes extérieures sont de couleurs foncées dont un bleu vif. Les bandes se poursuivent sur toute la hauteur de la peinture. Si on compare les effets des différentes couleurs et contrastes sur la perception, il résulte de la seconde peinture plus contrastée un plus grand détachement du premier plan au second plan vertical. D’autre part les bandes bleu vif extérieures, de par leur contraste avec le blanc, enferment la forme fluide dans un cadre rigide avec comme seule possibilité de mouvement éventuel un mouvement vertical. La première peinture du fait des bandes horizontales des bordures et des couleurs pastel des bandes paraît moins allongée, la forme fluide plus large car plus visible sur ses extrémités verticales qui se détachent mieux des bandes. La forme fluide semble stable enfermée en douceur par les bandes des quatre bords du cadre.

Les titres de ses peintures  sont des oxymores et cela prend tout son sens aujourd’hui. En faisant coexister des langages plastiques radicalement opposés Shirley Kaneda nous montre des oxymores visuels, matière à penser. Dans un monde où toute forme de conflits a tendance à s’amplifier de façon paroxystique, ses peintures nous montrent, si on le souhaite, qu’il est possible, avec intelligence, de trouver des voies pour que des systèmes différents, des régimes, des idéaux éloignés, des peuples... de simples voisins, puissent vivre et coexister ensemble.

Shirley Kaneda est née au Japon.  Elle s’est installée à New York depuis 1970 et a pris la nationalité américaine. Elle a reçu le Prix de la Fondation Guggenheim en 1999 et expose dans plusieurs villes des Etats-Unis ainsi qu’en Europe et en Australie.


La Galerie Jean-Luc & Takako Richard a publié une monographie de l’artiste avec un essai de Brooks Adams.