Press Release



STEFAN HOENERLOH       Prolonging Pleasure       March 17 - April 23, 2011

 

The starting point of the artist’s work is the discovery of East Berlin at the start of the 80s. The sense of history and uncomprehensible dramas that touch each canvas and every image. Hoenerloh’s paintings remind the audience of an unbearable suffering, of dramatic memories of painful tragedies that occured in both the past and present centuries. They show a town without any human presence, without any animals, any vegetation and without any clouds in the sky.

 

In some of his most recent paintings Hoenerloh revels in the freedom of playing around with the realism and plausibility of the landscapes. The landscapes appear far more like works of pure fiction. The painting entitled « Sound of Silence » represents a low angled view of narrow buildings composed of sculpted stone, overlapping different architectural styles of building, surpassed by improbable bridges that link the buildings between them. The « Main Course Topramen » painting shows buildings built on mezzanines, upon which the elevated ground floors are open thanks to many supporting arches.

At first glance other paintings seem to faithfully reflect urban sites. Hoenerloh succeeds in producing a sense of reality due to his infallible feel for urban sites and architectural compositions. In fact every painting is at the extreme of its subject, the limit of what seems plausible just as much from an architectural and urbanistic point of view as from a colour and light one.

 

His subject is not as much architecture as it is the passage of time which materialises in the immobile medium of painting, moderated by decaying architecture. His architectral styles, the density of his urban spaces, the vastness of edifices evoking a fossilised yet powerful civilisation. The eroding composition shows a broken down surface, but present a viable structure. Despite appearances, Hoenerloh does not abandon all hope for a metropolitan revitalisation. His landscapes offer the constant possibility of escape to the imprisoned Kafkaïen.

 

Stefan Hoenerloh shows a developed civilisation within us that has fallen apart, he makes us aware of the vanity of mankind and the dangers of its powerful appetite, whilst allowing it to be the master of its own destiny.

 

Born in 1960, Stefan Hoenerloh will have a solo show at Academy of Art in Hamburg in 2008 and will participate in two collective shows, one in Kunsthalle Darmstadt and the other at PM Gallery and House in London.

Communiqué de presse



STEFAN HOENERLOH           Prolonging Pleasure        17 mars - 23 avril 2011

 

Le point de départ de la vocation artistique de Hoenerloh est la découverte de Berlin-Est au début des années 80. Le sens de l’histoire et de ses drames imprègne chaque toile, chaque dessin. Les peintures de Hoenerloh rappellent au spectateur, parfois dans une souffrance insupportable, des souvenirs dramatiques des grandes tragédies du siècle précédent et du siècle présent. Elles montrent une ville sans aucune présence humaine, sans animaux, sans végétaux, sans nuages dans les ciels.

 

Dans certaines de ses peintures les plus récentes, Hoenerloh semble prendre plus de liberté avec la plausibilité de paysages réels. Ces tableaux apparaissent plus clairement comme de pures fictions. La peinture intitulée « Sound of Silence » représente une vue en contre-plongée de tours étroites construites en pierres de taille, superpositions de styles architecturaux différents, surmontées d’improbables ponts qui les relient entre eux. La peinture intitulée « Main Course Topramen » montre des immeubles construits sur des entresols sur lesquels les rez-de-chaussée surélevés sont ouverts grâce à de nombreuses arches supportant les bâtiments.

 

D’autres peintures semblent à première vue refléter fidèlement des sites urbains. Hoenerloh réussit à produire l'impression du réel grâce à son sens infaillible des espaces urbanisés et des compositions architecturales. En fait chaque peinture est à la limite du sujet, limite du plausible, tant d’un point de vue architectural et urbanistique, que sur le plan de la couleur et de la lumière.

 

Son sujet n’est pas tant l’architecture que le passage du temps qui se matérialise dans le médium immobile de la peinture par le biais de la déliquescence de l’architecture. Ses styles architecturaux, la densité des espaces urbains, la monumentalité des édifices évoquent une civilisation puissante qui s’est fossilisée. Un retour du vivant sur l'avant-scène semble pourtant à portée de main. Le stuc en érosion montre une ville à la surface dégradée, mais présentant une structure tout à fait viable. Malgré les apparences, Hoenerloh n’abandonne pas tout espoir d'une revitalisation de la métropole. À l’enfermement kafkaïen, ses paysages offrent toujours le choix de plusieurs échappatoires. 

 

Stefan Hoenerloh, en nous représentant une civilisation développée qui s’est écroulée, nous met en garde contre la vanité de l’homme et les dangers de son appétit de puissance, tout en le laissant maître de son destin.

 

Né en 1960, Stefan Hoenerloh aura une exposition personnelle à L’Académie d’Art de Hambourg en 2008 et participera à deux expositions collectives, l’une à la Kunsthalle Darmstadt, l’autre à la PM Gallery and House à Londres.