Press Release


DIONISIO GONZÁLEZ          FAVELAS            February 23 to April 14 2012


Galerie Richard is pleased to announce the New York debut of Spanish artist Dionisio González.  Embodying the roles of utopian/dystopian architect and documentary photographer, González constructs spatially and socially complex worlds that challenge the histories of photography and architecture.


In this exhibition, Galerie Richard presents Favelas, González’s first series from 2004 - 2007, which brought him international recognition and acclaim. Favelas (the Brazilian word for shantytowns) became a seminal body of work for González in which he began his renowned process of constructing and deconstructing photographic space. This body of work marks a critical moment in the artist’s career as he exhibits in New York for the first time.


Beginning with the subject of Favelas is a strong artistic statement for a photographer. The very poor urban suburbs in Brazil are the perfect subject as the so-called documentary photography with ethnologic, sociological political, urbanistic, architectural and voyeurists contents. At first glance, the photographs appear to be objective depictions of urban locations. The images illustrate life in the favela and otherwise just constructions. Every composition is the same: a frontal view of a street or a group of houses. It respects the aesthetics of numerous photographers like Ed Ruscha, Bernd and Hilla Becher, just to name a few. However, some parts of the construction resemble recent architectures of the last two decades, so much so that the viewer begins questioning the image.


Galerie Richard will present nine large format C-prints from Favelas containing scenes of architectural hybridity in which sleek Modernist forms project from the shantytowns of Brazil, creating an intersection of social structures. González reclaims the favela, and transforms it into a destination. The works allude to global architecture, or the aftermath of gentrification however, they offer no certainties. 


Using a computer, González interweaves imaginary architecture or elements of Modern and Contemporary architectures within the structural patchwork of the shantytown, collapsing real and fictive imagery. The photographs are heavily processed accumulations of time, and information, condensed seamlessly within a single moment. As a post-digital maker, Dionisio González exploits photography and challenges the medium’s preconceived neutrality and objectivity assumptions. At the same time he challenges himself as being as much a photographer than a virtual architect. In recent years, some young Brazilian architects started inserting contemporary architectures into the favelas in ways similar to that of Dionisio’s.


González’s work has been exhibited at the The Venice Architecture Bienniale, The Heidelberger Kunstverein, the Landesmuseum Joanneum de Graz, and Hanoi's Museum of the Revolution, bringing him renowned international recognition. His work is part of major international private and institutional collections including the Rubell Collection, the Borusan Collection, the Williams College Museum of Art, Massachusetts, and the Coca Cola Foundation.

Communiqué de presse



 

DIONISIO GONZÁLEZ                    Favelas                     23 février – 7 avril 2012

Galerie Richard a le plaisir d'annoncer la première exposition de l'artiste espagnol Dionisio González à New York. En incarnant à la fois les rôles d'architecte utopique/dystopique et de photographe documentariste, González construit dans l'espace et socialement des mondes complexes qui défient les histoires de la photographie et de l'architecture.

Sur cette exposition, Galerie Richard présente  Favelas, la première série photographique de González créée entre 2004 et 2007, qui lui a apportée la reconnaissance internationale. Les favelas (le mot brésilien pour des bidonvilles) sont devenues un corp séminal de travail pour González avec lequel il a commencé son processus renommé de construction et deconstruction de l'espace photographique. Ce corpus de travail marque un moment majeur dans la carrière de l'artiste et celui avec lequel il obtient sa première exposition personnelle aux États-Unis.

Commencer par le sujet des Favelas est une déclaration artistique forte pour un photographe. La très pauvre banlieue urbaine de São Paulo au Brésil est le sujet parfait pour la photographie documentaire avec ses contenus ethnologiques, sociologiques, politiques, urbanistiques, architecturaux et  voyeuristes. Au premier coup d'œil, les photographies semblent être des descriptions objectives d'emplacements urbains. Les images illustrent la vie dans la favela et ses constructions. Chaque composition est la même: une vue frontale d'une rue ou d’un groupe de maisons. Il respecte l'esthétique de nombreux photographes comme Ed Ruscha, Bernd et Hilla Becher, pour ne citer que quelques noms. Cependant, quelques parties de la construction ressemblent aux architectures récentes des deux dernières décennies, que le spectateur commence à mettre en doute l'image.

 

Galerie Richard présente neuf grands formats de photographies de Favelas contenant les scènes d'hybridité architecturale dans laquelle des formes modernes et lisses saillent des bidonvilles du Brésil, créant une intersection de structures sociales. Les Favelas se sont développées sur des territoires qui échappent  à toute réglementation. Pour González ce sont des territoires où la créativité peut se développer sous les formes les plus originales. Plus que l’apparition de constructions neuves qui se référent explicitement aux développements de l’architecture mondiale au sein des constructions hétéroclites des bidonvilles, c’est la survie de ces bidonvilles dans un environnement de mixité architecturale et sociale  qui est une vraie surprise.

 

Travaillant avec différents logiciels de créations sur son ordinateur, González entrelace l'architecture imaginaire ou des éléments d'architectures modernes et contemporaines dans le patchwork structurel du bidonville, entrechoquant le réel avec le virtuel. Les photographies condensent en un seul moment, en une seule image, des successions cumulatives d’étapes créatives lourdement consommatrices de temps et d’informations. En tant qu’artiste post-numérique, Dionisio González exploite le champ de la photographie et défie la neutralité préconçue du médium et ses présupposés d'objectivité. En même temps il se définit comme un photographe tout en étant aussi un architecte virtuel (et un designer d’intérieur virtuel). Récemment de jeunes architectes brésiliens ont commencé à insérer des architectures contemporaines dans les favelas de façons semblables à celles de Dionisio González.