Press Release



 

 

 

JOSEPH NECHVATAL                                        nOise anusmOs                                                   April 12 – May 26, 2012

 

 

American artist Joseph Nechvatal presents his solo show with a series of new paintings entitled, nOise anusmOs at Galerie Richard, New York from April 12th to May 26th, 2012. The gallery displays ten new paintings from 2011, in which the human body connects to the cosmos, appearing both figurative and abstract. The theme ofnOise anusmOs is a linkage of the human retina and anus to the cosmos. nOise anusmOs suggests that this includes the connectivity of the noisy universe with the inner human in a spirit of imaginative artistic audacity and erotic spirituality. The viewer can imaginatively replace him or herself within a Dionysian flux of cosmological nature. Other influences on this show are American transcendental black metal music and avant-garde saxophone music. These new paintings can also be perceived as abstract paintings of light and space. The new velvet material brings a sensual matte and satin finish as well as intensity in colors (the black color is as dark as Chinese ink) for a full visual pleasure.

 

Joseph Nechvatal has worked with electronic images and computer technology since 1986, and has been infecting his paintings with computer viruses since 1991. In 2001 Joseph Nechvatal and Stéphane Sikora combined the initial digital virus project with the principles of artificial life, in other words creating systems of synthesis that reproduces the behavioral characteristics of living systems. In nOise anusmOs, the virus cannot be seen. It acts as an anti-virus, which creates the subject matter instead of destroying it.  The virus knits filaments of cells and assembles them gradually to create the images. Art connoisseurs will be able to draw similarities between these works and Nechvatal’s graphite drawings that he made before 1986.

 

The exhibition also presents four works from Nechvatal’s stOry Of the eye series, 2010. For the first time, each painting is presented with a digital video. However, none of these paintings has been infected with the virus since 1991, which is very rare. Each video shows a painting alongside the virus in one or two colored dots or a multitude of points. This population of active viruses then grows, reproduces and propagates within the space of the picture. In this series, the virus infects the image with one single color until it becomes monochromatic, marking the end of the process. This contamination of the traditional painting on canvas by new digital technologies thus creates an interface between the virtual and the real, which Nechvatal calls the viractual.

 

Furthermore, the exhibition also features four paintings from the 2008 series, Out Of shadOws. Firstly, Nechvatal utilized his old photographs from going out to nightclubs in the East Village and the Lower East Side in the 1970s. He then digitally manipulated them, adding fluidity to the floating shadows and infecting them with a virus that made them appear as frozen crystals.

 

Joseph Nechvatal’s works are featured in the collections of the MoMa, New York, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, the Jewish Museum, New York, Malmö Kunsthall, Sweden, the Israel Museum in Jerusalem, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Museum of Dôle, France, and the Herb & Dorothy Vogel collection.

Communiqué de presse



 JOSEPH NECHVATAL                                  nOise anusmOs                                         12 avril – 26 mai  2012

 

 L’artiste américain Joseph Nechvatal présente en exposition personnelle à la Galerie Richard New York  une série de nouvelles peintures intitulées nOise anusmOs du 12 avril au 26 mai 2012.  La galerie expose dix nouvelles peintures créées en 2011 où il relie le corps humain au cosmos, permettant une lecture aussi bien figurative qu’abstraite. Le thème que l’artiste développe dans nOise anusmOs est le lien de la rétine et de l’anus humain au cosmos. Le regardeur peut avec son imagination se replacer, lui ou elle, au sein d’un flux dionysiaque de nature cosmologique. Les autres influences de cette exposition sont la musique transcendantale black métal et la musique avant-gardiste au saxophone. Ses nouvelles peintures peuvent être aussi appréciées en tant que peintures de lumière et d’espace. La nouvelle surface en velours apporte un fini tantôt mat tantôt satin d’une grande sensualité ainsi qu’une grande intensité dans les couleurs (le noir est aussi sombre que de l’encre de chine) pour un plaisir visuel complet.

 

Joseph Nechvatal a travaillé avec des images électroniques et la technologie des ordinateurs depuis 1986. Depuis 1991 il contamine ses peintures par des virus informatiques. En 2001 Nechvatal et Stéphane Sikora ont combiné le projet initial de virus numérique avec les principes de vie artificielle, en d’autres termes ont créé un système de synthèse qui reproduit les caractéristiques  comportementales des systèmes vivants. Dans la nouvelle série nOise anusmOs le virus n’est pas visible et agit comme un anti-virus car il crée le sujet. Il tricote  des filaments de matière et les assemble progressivement. Les connaisseurs retrouvent une parenté avec les dessins au crayon que l’artiste faisait avant 1986.

 

L’exposition présente également quatre œuvres de la série intitulée stOry of the eye de 2010. Pour la première fois chaque peinture est présentée avec une vidéo numérique. Aucune de ces peintures n’est infectée encore par des virus, ce qui est une rareté depuis 1991. La peinture apparaît sur l’écran vidéo, puis le virus en un, deux ou une multitude de points. Cette population de virus actifs ensuite grossit, se reproduit et se propage dans l’espace de l’image. Dans cette série le virus recouvre l’image de la peinture d’une couleur uniforme jusqu’à ce qu’elle devienne un monochrome. C’est alors la fin du processus. Cette contamination de la tradition de la peinture sur toile par les nouvelles technologies numériques crée une interface entre le virtuel et le réel, ce que Nechvatal appelle le viractuel.

 

Enfin l’exposition montre quatre peintures de la série Out of shadOws de 2008. Au lieu de partir d’images obtenues sur des sites internet, il a repris d’anciennes de ses photographies de vues de sorties de boîtes de nuit  dans l’East Village et le Lower East Side prises dans les années 70. Il les a ensuite manipulées numériquement en rendant les ombres encore plus flottantes et les a infectées par un virus qui se développe comme des cristaux de glace.

 

Les oeuvres de Joseph Nechvatal figurent dans les collections du MoMa, New York, du Museum of Contemporary Art de Los Angeles, du Jewish Museum, New York, Malmö Kunsthall, Suède, du Israel Museum, Jérusalem, du Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, du Musée de Dôle, France, ainsi que dans la collection Herb & Dorothy Vogel.