Press Release




First Year in New York                                                                                               July 26 – September 1, 2012

 

 

Galerie Richard, New York presents its first group show titled First Year in New York from July 26 through September 1, 2012.

Based in Paris, Galerie Richard opened its second gallery last September in Chelsea and has since exhibited six solo shows by the following artists: Paul Henry Ramirez, Carl Fudge, Beverly Fishman, Dionisio González, Joseph Nechvatal and Christophe Avella-Bagur.

 

Paul Henry Ramirez’s works have been defined as Biomorphic Abstractions. Inspired by de Stijl and Russian Constructivism principles, he is a master at exploring new and unusual dynamic spatial balances between empty and full spaces, and between static and dynamism. At the same time he successfully integrates playful and innocent sexuality into the abstract work making the work fully alive.

 

Carl Fudge investigates both the practical and aestheticized format of camouflage within abstraction. Originating with Wadsworth's woodcuts that depict the landscapes of the Industrial Revolution in England, then decomposed and fragmented on the computer, relating to the Digital Revolution, these new works are profoundly pertinent to describing the two major events that shape our present way of life.

 

Beverly Fishman explores the fast evolving relationship between our bodies and contemporary technology. Her vibrantly colored paintings and sculptures have their genesis in diverse patterns and iconography drawn from scientific imaging systems and pharmaceutical packaging. By manipulating and layering these representational traces of the body into dense, psychedelic compositions, Fishman raises questions about the vulnerability of human identity in an increasingly digitized and electronically-mediated world.

 

Dionisio González’s Favelas is his first photographic series from 2004-2007 which brought him international recognition and acclaim. He began his renowned process of constructing and deconstructing photographic space. As a post-digital maker, Dionisio González exploits photography and challenges the medium’s preconceived neutrality and objectivity assumptions. Meanwhile he challenges himself as being as much a photographer than a virtual architect.

 

Joseph Nechvatal presents new paintings in which the human body connects to the cosmos, appearing both figurative and abstract. The exhibition also features paintings from the Out Of shadOws series. Using his old photographs from going out to nightclubs in the East Village in the 1970s he then digitally manipulated them adding fluidity to the floating shadows and infecting them with a virus that made them appear as frozen crystals. Nechvatal has been infecting his paintings with computer viruses since 1991.

 

Christophe Avella-Bagur shows us archetypal representations of male and female bodies that answer our expectations of mass-produced perfection. Avella-Bagur disrupts this ideal with a second layer of portraits painted in visceral flesh-tones that never quite register with the face's outline. This work emphasizes the conflict between the possibility of standardization of the human bodies and mind by science and the real human being as a unique person.

Communiqué de presse



 First Year in New York                                                                         26 juillet –1 septembre 2012

 

 

Galerie Richard, New York, présente sa première exposition personnelle intitulée First Year in New York du 26 juillet au 1er septembre 2012. Basée à Paris Galerie Richard a ouvert sa deuxième galerie en septembre à Chelsea et a depuis organisé six expositions personnelles des artistes suivants : Paul Henry Ramirez, Carl Fudge, Beverly Fishman, Dionisio González, Joseph Nechvatal et Christophe Avella-Bagur.

 

 

Les œuvres de Paul Henry Ramirez ont été définies comme des « Biomorphic Abstractions ». Inspiré par les principes du mouvement de Stijl et des Constructivistes russes, il est un maître dans l’exploration d‘équilibres spatiaux dynamiques entre les espaces pleins et vides et entre le statique et le dynamisme. En même temps il réussit à intégrer une sexualité légère et innocente dans l’oeuvre abstraite, la rendant encore plus vivace.

 

 

Carl Fudge poursuit une investigation sur les aspects pratiques et esthétiques de l'idée de camouflage dans l'abstraction. A partir des gravures sur bois de Edward Wadsworth qui représentent les paysages industriels en Angleterre, il les fragmente avant de les recomposer sur ordinateur ajoutant la révolution digitale à la révolution industrielle.

 

 

 

 

 

Beverly Fishman explore les évolutions rapides entre notre rapport au corps et les nouvelles technologies. Ses peintures et sculptures aux couleurs vibrantes ont leur genèse dans les différentes iconographies utilisées dans l’imagerie scientifique et les emballages des produits pharmaceutiques. En transformant ces représentations de corps en compositions optiques psychédéliques, Fishman pose des questions sur la vulnérabilité  de l’identité humaine au sein d’un monde numérique.

 

 

 

 

 

Dionisio González a créé en 2004-2007 Favelas sa première série photographique qui lui a apportée la reconnaissance internationale. il y a commencé son processus de construction de l'espace photographique. En tant qu’artiste post-numérique, González exploite le champ de la photographie et défie la neutralité préconçue du médium et ses présupposés d'objectivité.

 

 

 

 

 

Joseph Nechvatal présente de nouvelles peintures où il relie le corps humain au cosmos, permettant une lecture aussi bien figurative qu’abstraite. L’exposition montre aussi des peintures de la série Out of shadOws. A partir  de ses photographies de vues de sorties de boîtes de nuit  dans l’East Village prises dans les années 70. Il les a manipulées numériquement en rendant les ombres encore plus flottantes et les a infectées par un virus qui se développe comme des cristaux de glace.

 

 

 

 

 

Christophe Avella-Bagur nous présente des archétypes de corps masculins et féminins qui se distinguent par la présence d’un second portrait aux couleurs chairs qui cherche à se positionner dans/sur le relief du mannequin. Les deux portraits ne coïncident jamais et l’artiste dans chaque tableau invente chaque fois de nouvelles juxtapositions. Il peint une peinture lisse et « propre » conforme au modèle de la standardisation de la production manufacturée.